Term Limits

The term for Mayor is four years with a limit of no more than two consecutive terms. The Council members are elected at large, by group numbers, for a four year term; no council member shall be elected to serve as council for more than three consecutive terms.

Electoral History

With the incorporation of the City of Hialeah in 1925, the political process of elections came into being. The City has grown from one voting precinct and 532 registered voters in 1925 to 50 voting precincts and 96,681 registered voters in 2013, and 48 precincts and 103,391 registered voters in 2019.

In past elections, a candidate has only run for mayor unopposed on four occasions:

  • Carl Ault ran unopposed twice in the 1937 and 1941 elections. 
  • Raul L. Martinez ran unopposed in 1985. 
  • In 2001, for the first time in the history of the City of Hialeah, Mayor Raul L. Martinez and all four City Council incumbents (Esteban Bovo, Roberto Casas, Julio Robaina and Guillermo Zuñiga) were re-elected without opposition.