
WHAT IS DOMESTIC VIOLENCE? 

 Under the provisions of Section 741.28 of the 

Florida Statutes, domestic violence means any 

assault, aggravated assault, battery, 

aggravated battery, sexual assault, sexual 

battery, stalking, aggravated stalking, 

kidnapping, false imprisonment, or any criminal 

offense resulting in physical injury or death of 

one family or household member by another 

family or household member. A family or 

household members are spouses, former 

spouses, persons related by blood or marriage, 

persons who are presently residing together as if 

a family or who have resided together in the 

past as if a family, and persons who are parents 

of a child in common regardless of whether they 

have been married. With the exception of 

persons who have a child in common, the 

family or household members must be currently 

residing or have in the past resided together in 

the same single dwelling unit. 

Domestic Violence includes: 

Physical Abuse—Pushing, slapping, kicking, 

punching, choking, and beating 

Emotional/Verbal Abuse—Verbal intimidation, 

credible threats, following and stalking, acting 

out in anger 

Sexual Abuse or Battery—Any unwanted 

touching or forcing of someone to engage in a 

sexual act against his or her will  

WHAT IS SEXUAL VIOLENCE? 

Under the provisions of Section 784.046 of the 

Florida Statutes, sexual violence is one incident of 

 Sexual battery, as defined in chapter 794; 

  A lewd or lascivious act, as defined in chapter 

800, committed upon or in the presence of a 

person younger than 16 years of age;  

 Luring or enticing a child, as described in 

chapter 787;  

 Sexual performance by a child, as described in 

chapter 827; or  

Any other forcible felony wherein a sexual act is 

committed or attempted, regardless of whether 

criminal charges based on the incident were 

filed, reduced, or dismissed by the state attorney 

WHAT IS DATING VIOLENCE? 

Under the provisions of Section 784.046 of the 

Florida Statutes, dating violence is violence 

between individuals who have or have had a 

continuing and significant relationship of a 

romantic or intimate nature. The existence of 

such a relationship shall be determined based on 

the consideration of the following factors:  

 A dating relationship must have existed within 

the past 6 months;  

 The nature of the relationship must have been 

characterized by the expectation of affection or 

sexual involvement between the parties; and  

 The frequency and type of interaction between 

the persons involved in the relationship must 

have included that the persons have been 

involved over time and on a continuous basis 

during the course of the relationship.  

The term does not include violence in a casual 

acquaintanceship or violence between 

individuals who only have engaged in ordinary 

fraternization in a business or social context. 

WHAT IS REPEAT VIOLENCE? 

Under the provisions of Section 784.046 of the 

Florida Statutes, repeat violence means two 

incidents of violence or stalking one of which 

must have been within 6 months of filing a 

petition and must have been directed against the 

petitioner or the petitioner’s immediate family 

member.  

WHAT IS STALKING? 

  Under the provisions of Section 784.048 of the 

Florida Statutes, stalking occurs when a person 

willfully, maliciously, and repeatedly follows, 

harass, or cyber stalks another person. 

Aggravated stalking occurs when that person 

makes a credible threat to that person through 

stalking. 

WHAT DOES THE LAW MEAN? 

You have the right to ask the State Attorney to file 

a criminal complaint, and you have the right to 

go to court and file a petition requesting an 

injunction for protection against domestic 

violence, repeat violence, dating violence, 

sexual violence, or stalking if you are  

 The victim of domestic violence, repeat 

violence, dating violence, sexual violence, or 

stalking  

 The parent of any minor child living at home 

who is seeking an injunction for protection 

against domestic violence, repeat violence, 

dating violence, sexual violence, or stalking OR 

  If you have reasonable cause to believe, you 

or your minor child is in imminent danger of 

becoming the victim of any act of domestic 

violence. This may include, but need not be 

limited to provisions that  

 Direct the abuser to leave your household 

  Restrain the abuser from any contact or further 

acts of abuse as a “no contact” condition of 

pretrial release, which will prevent the abuser 

from being within 500 feet of your residence, 

vehicle, school, business, or place of 

employment  

 Award you custody of your minor child or 

children  

 Direct the abuser to pay support to you and the 

minor child or children if the abuser has a legal 

obligation to do so 

For safety reasons, you may furnish your address 

to the court in a separate confidential filing when 

filing the petition for injunction.  

You are not required to remain in a residence or 

household where you are a victim of domestic 

violence. Your address may be different from that 

of your partner without penalty. 

HOW CAN THE LAW HELP ME? 

If you have been a victim of domestic violence, 

repeat violence, dating violence, sexual violence, 

stalking, or if you are afraid that you will be hurt, 

Florida’s domestic violence law enables you to 

work with the court system to help keep you safe. 

Contact your local domestic violence center for 

safety planning prior to filing for an injunction. The 

Clerk of the Court is required to assist you in 

seeking both injunctions for protection and 

enforcement for a violation of an injunction. 

Representation by an attorney is not required of 

either party as per Section 741.30(1)(f) of the 

Florida Statutes. Go to the Clerk of the Court’s 

Office in your county courthouse.  Bring 

identification.  Bring information about where the 

abuser can be located.  

 Bring any other information on the abuser, such 

as photos or identification. 

 Bring any papers relating to your case.  

 Tell the clerk that you are interested in filing a 

petition for injunction for protection against 

domestic violence, repeat violence, dating 

violence, or sexual violence.  

 The court clerk will help you in filing the proper 

paperwork. By filling out these forms, you will be 

explaining to the judge exactly what type of 

protection you need and from whom you need 

protection.  

 After you have completed the paperwork, the 

court may determine that danger of domestic 

violence exists. The court may order a temporary 

injunction, which is good for 15 days. Then a full 

hearing is held to consider your safety and the 

safety of your children.  

 The abuser must be served with the injunction 

before it becomes effective. The injunction will tell 

the abuser what the judge requires and when to 

return to court for a hearing. This hearing will be 

within 15 days unless the abuser cannot be served.  

 You are able to request notification of service of 

the injunction and receive notice automatically 

within 12 hours after the injunction is served. 



 It is important for you to attend the hearing so 

that you can make sure the judge understands 

exactly what help you need and why. If you do 

not attend, usually the judge will end the 

injunction. 

 

  After the hearing, a final injunction may be 

granted. The final injunction is valid until 

dissolved or amended by the court. 

WHAT DO I DO IF THE ABUSER 

VIOLATES THE INJUNCTION? 

You will receive a copy of the injunction. Keep it 

with you at all times.  

 If the abuser violates the conditions of an 

injunction, call the police right away.  

 The abuser may be arrested.  

 If the abuser is arrested, he/she will be held 

until the court determines bail.  

 The judge will consider your safety and the 

safety of your children.  

 You may go to court if you wish.  

 The court may order penalties as allowed by 

law.  

If the injunction has been violated, report the 

violation to the Clerk of the Circuit Court only if 

law enforcement states it cannot issue an arrest 

warrant, or issue a notice to appear because 

there is no criminal violation. Report the violation 

in the county where the violation occurred and 

complete an affidavit in support of the violation. 

The judge will determine what action should be 

taken for your safety and the safety of your 

children. Under the provisions of Section 

741.315(2), Florida Statutes, if you have an out of 

state court order for protection against domestic 

violence, federal and state law provides that 

law enforcement recognize and act on the 

protections in the order as if issued by a Florida 

court, as long as the issuing court gave the 

accused the opportunity for a hearing before 

issuing the order. This includes orders issued by 

courts from the District of Columbia, Indian 

tribes, commonwealth 

EXEMPTION FROM 

PUBLIC INSPECTION 

Under the provisions of Section 119.071(2)(j) of the 

Florida Statutes any information which reveals the 

home or employment telephone number, home or 

employment address, or personal assets of a 

person who has been the victim of sexual battery, 

aggravated child abuse, aggravated stalking, 

harassment, aggravated battery, or domestic 

violence is exempt from public inspection and 

examination.  

You must make a written request and provide 

official verification, such as a law enforcement 

report, to the custodian of the records that an 

applicable crime has occurred. Such information 

shall remain exempt for 5 years, after which it will 

become available to the public. 

WHOM SHOULD I TALK TO FOR 

MORE INFORMATION? 
Florida Domestic Violence Hotline 

1-800-500-1119 

(For legal assistance hit prompt #3) 

Florida Abuse Hotline 

1-800-962-2873 

(To file confidential reports of child abuse) 

National Child Abuse Hotline 

1-800-422-4453 

(24 hour help line which provides crisis counseling, 

information and referrals) 

National Domestic Violence Hotline 

1-800-799-7233 

National Teen Dating Abuse Hotline 

1-866-331-9474 

YOUR CASE INFORMATION 
 

  

Law Enforcement Agency 

 

  

Phone Number 

 

  

Case Number 

 

  

Date of Report 

 

  

    Officer’s Name ID Number 

City of Hialeah Police Department 

305-687-2525 

Victim Advocates 

305-953-5351 or 305-953-5379 

Shelter information 

The Lodge 305-693-0232 

Safespace 305-758-2546 

Women in Distress 954-761-1133 

According to Florida Statute §741.29—“IF YOU ARE THE 

VICTIM OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE, you may ask the state 

attorney to file a criminal complaint. You also have the 

right to go to court and file a petition requesting an 

injunction for protection from domestic violence which 

may include, but need not be limited to, provisions which 

restrain the abuser from further acts of abuse; direct the 

abuser to leave your household; prevent the abuser from 

entering your residence, school, business, or place of 

employment; award you custody of your minor child or 

children; and direct the abuser to pay support to you and 

the minor children if the abuser has a legal obligation to 

do so.” 

Hialeah 
Police Department 

 

Notice of Legal Rights and Remedies 

for Victims of Domestic Violence, 

Dating Violence, Repeat Violence, 

Sexual Violence, Stalking 

 

IT ISN’T JUST WRONG. 

IT’S A CRIME. 

DID YOU KNOW? 

 In Florida, a person is killed by a family 

member every 36 hours. 

 Domestic Violence is the leading cause of 

injury to women. 

 More than 124,000 incidents of domestic 

violence are reported in Florida each year, 

involving victims young and old, male and 

female. 

YOU HAVE RIGHTS. 

KNOWING YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS 

AND OPTIONS IS THE FIRST STEP 

TOWARD ENDING ABUSE. 
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